Book Review: A Lot Like Love (FBI / US Attorney, #2) by Julie James

Title: A Lot Like Love
Author: Julie James
Series: FBI / US Attorney, #2
Publishing Date: March 1st 2011
Genre: Romance, Suspense
Format: Paperback
Pages: 274
Links: Goodreads | Amazon

Synopsis:
The FBI wants her cooperation…
As the daughter of a billionaire and the owner of the city’s top wine store, Jordan Rhodes is invited to the most exclusive parties in Chicago. But there’s only one party the FBI wants to crash: the charity fundraiser of a famous restaurateur, who also happens to launder money for the mob. In exchange for her brother’s release from prison, Jordan is going to be there—with a date supplied by the Bureau.

Agent McCall just wants her…
As the top undercover agent in Chicago, Nick McCall has one rule: never get personal. This “date” with Jordan Rhodes is merely an assignment—one they’re both determined to pull off even if they can’t be together for five minutes before the sarcasm and sparks begin to fly. But when Nick’s investigation is compromised, he and Jordan have no choice but to pretend they’re a couple, and what starts out as a simple assignment begins to feel a lot like something more.

My rating: ★★★★/5

My Thoughts

Can I just start by saying that I love Julie James? I have never read any books involving the FBI, US Attorney, or Cops that actually turned out to be well written and funny! And her writing style, WOW!! Julie James, teach me your ways!!

I first came across Julie James when I read Something About You (FBI/US Attorney #1) and Just the Sexiest Man Alive. Yep, I read them at the same time. Kept going back and forth because I loved them so much. I couldn’t decide which one to put down and finish first, so I would read a couple of pages and then switch. Silly, I know.

This isn’t a series that you have to read them in order to know what is going on. It’s a series in the sense that the characters from previous books make appearances, which I love! With how well written these books are you automatically fall in love with the characters, so it’s nice to know what they’re up to every now and then.

Okay so back to A Lot Like Love there was a lot to LOVE. James’ style is just flawless. Interesting characters, strong plot, the right amount of banter (I loved the child-like banter between Nick and Jordan), fast paced storyline, and non-cheesy romance. Although while reading this book I really wanted to know Kyle’s story, and then I found out he’s in the next book. WOOOT!!

Side note, can we PLEASE get to Wilkins?! Oh and Huxley too!!

Favorite Quotes

“First Pallas and now you,” the gray-haired man said, shaking his head at Nick. “It’s like I’m running a goddamn dating service around here.” – Julie James, A Lot Like Love

“Jack leaned over, “Ever get the impression that these women are way out of our league?”
“I shot the last guy who said that to me.” – Julie James, A Lot Like Love

xo
Patty♡♕

Leave a Reply

