Book Review: Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1) by J.R. Ward

Title: Dark Lover
Author: J.R. Ward
Series: Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1
Publication Date: September 6th, 2005
Genre: Romance, Paranormal, Fantasy
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 393
Links: Goodreads | Kobo | Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:
In the shadows of the night in Caldwell, New York, there’s a deadly turf war going on between vampires and their slayers. There exists a secret band of brothers like no other-six vampire warriors, defenders of their race. Yet none of them relishes killing more than Wrath, the leader of The Black Dagger Brotherhood.

The only purebred vampire left on earth, Wrath has a score to settle with the slayers who murdered his parents centuries ago. But, when one of his most trusted fighters is killed-leaving his half-breed daughter unaware of his existence or her fate-Wrath must usher her into the world of the undead-a world of sensuality beyond her wildest dreams.

My rating: ★★★★★/5

My Thoughts

Dear Friends on Goodreads,
I call you all my friends, yet not a single one of you gave me any warnings or heads up of what I was getting myself into!!! What kind of friends are you guys!? I blame you all who have read this book/series. I’m just kidding, I love you all ❤️❤️

This review is going to be short and sweet…well, somewhat. Because there is no need to write a essay on why this book is 5+ stars!!! I don’t know what to do with myself, well actually I do. I need to find the nearest Chapters and buy book 2!! And 3, 4…damn. THE WHOLE SERIES!! This pretty much sums it all up for me…

katy-perry-omg

OH MY GOD is right!! Tisk, tisk, Patty. I can’t believe it took me this long to read this book! Where have I been living? Under a rock you say? Clearly. I’m hooked. Wrath? You can come and stand in my courtyard any day. I want him, so badly. I truly believe I’ll be a better Queen than Beth, psh Beth. I’m just kidding, I love Beth. And Wrath? Welcome! You have been chosen to be my next fictional boyfriend.❤️❤️❤️❤️

Okay so this book, Ward’s writing, description, action, and I mean action *wink*wink*. J.R. Ward, you are one brilliant and talented writer!! Although I have to say, WHY is Zsadist’s story book #3?!?! Do you know how tempted I am to just skip Lover Eternal *sorry Rhage, I still love you* just so I can get to Zsadist?! But I won’t, promise.

5+ STARS!!! ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️
To anyone, ANYONE, thinking of reading this series or maybe just this book, DO IT. 😀

Favorite Quotes

**NOTE: A lot of the quotes that I love are spoilers, so this is just a short list of non-spoiler quotes**

“You don’t know this yet. But you are Mine.” – J.R. Ward, Dark Lover

“You’re almost ready,” he said softly. “And it’s coming fast.” If the it he was referring to had anything to do with their getting naked, she was totally on board with the plan.” – J.R. Ward, Dark Lover

“At least I’m not pussy-whipped!” “Nice. Fucking. Suit.” – J.R. Ward, Dark Lover

xo
Patty♡♕

Leave a Reply

