Book Review: Wildest Dreams (Fantasyland, #1) by Kristen Ashley

Title: Wildest Dreams
Author: Kristen Ashley
Series: Fantasyland
Publication Date: August 15th, 2011
Genre: Fantasy, Romance
Format: ebook
Pages: 464
Links: Goodreads / Kobo / Barnes & Noble

Synopsis: 
Seoafin “Finnie” Wilde was taught by her parents that life was meant to be lived, every breath was a treasure and to seek every adventure she could find. And she learns this lesson the hard way when they perish in a plane crash when she’s fifteen. But she never forgets and when she discovers there is a parallel universe where every person has a twin, she finds a witch who can send her there so she can see her parents again and have the adventure of a lifetime.

But nearly upon arrival in the Winter Wonderland of Lunwyn, she realizes she’s been played by her twin of the alternate universe and shortly finds herself walking down the aisle to be wed to The Drakkar.

Instantly thrown into inauspicious circumstances, with years of practice (she did, of course, survive that elephant stampede, if she could do that, she can do anything), Finnie bests the challenges and digs into her adventure. But as Frey Drakkar discovers the woman who is his new wife is not Princess Sjofn, a woman he dislikes (intensely) but instead, his Finnie, a free-spirit with a thirst for venture just like him (not to mention she is his destiny), without her knowledge he orders his new bride bound to his frozen world, everlasting.

My rating: ★★★.5/5

My Thoughts

I decided to read this book because everyone on my Goodreads was reading this series! Although most were on book 3 or 4. Because this series had such high ratings I was really expecting to love this book, and maybe that was my mistake for having high expectations. I was 45% through this book when another friend on my Goodreads posted a status thinking about reading something by Kristen Ashley but didn’t know what series to start with, another individual recommend another series of hers to start with to get use to her style. I wish I knew this at the time! Maybe if I had start with a different series and got used to Ashley’s style I would actually enjoy this series ten time more!

Her style was my biggest pet peeve, I just couldn’t get into it and then there were some parts that I felt were dragged out longer than necessarily! Like towards the end of the novel it went a little like this One week later, four days later, One month later, one and a half weeks later, four days later. And etc, etc. You get the picture. IT DROVE ME INSANE!!! I normally have no problems when authors do this, but then again normally they don’t keep it going starting multiple chapters in a row like this! It’s normally done once or twice and then they move on. Not the case in this novel, and maybe it was the fact that I was already annoyed with her style that this bothered me so much.

Overall though, I liked the plot and the characters! Fifi annoyed me at times but the banter between her and Frey was cute. I’m going to try reading this again next month and hopefully I’ll have a new review to post then.

xo
Patty♡♕

Leave a Reply

