Blog Tour: Forever Layla

 photo foreverlaylablogtour_zps852fd495.png


Forever Layla

Author: Melissa Turner Lee
Series: N/A
Genre: YA, Science Fiction, Contemporary
Publisher: AltWit Press
Publication Date: May 27th, 2014
Format: ebook
Pages: 217
Source: IFB
Purchase: Amazon

 photo 9bb5e8a5-a0b1-449c-a417-c528f02fe37f_zps53f1e3c9.png

What if the woman you envied most is the person you are destined to become?

In 1994, high school senior David Foster was the lackey and soundboard geek for his best friend’s grunge band. During spring break, the band lands a dream gig playing at a motel in Myrtle Beach, SC. David expected all the girls to ogle the guys on stage, but when a beautiful blond “Bond Girl” approaches him and calls him by name, he’s shocked to find out she knows more about him than a stranger should.

She even knows about his notebooks and his visions of time travel.

What she thought was a quick time-travel-sightseeing trip takes a surprising turn when she meets the young adult version of the man she’d heard stories about as a child. His fairy-tale romance with the woman he’d loved, Layla, inspired her to accept nothing less than a love just as strong…but hopefully not as tragic. When she won’t tell the younger version of him her name, he calls her Layla–and the world as she knows it changes forever.

add-to-goodreads-button31


 photo 4c7c57e9-244a-42fb-abaf-06f54de6e038_zpse7762b12.png

Whatever happens, the pain and sorrow will be worth it in the long run.

When I signed up for the blog tour for Forever Layla and read the synopsis it peaked my interest. However, when I finished the first chapter I became hooked! I’m normally easily confused when it comes to time travel, it’s a complex concept to have in stories and most times authors do a poor job at covering all their bases. This however was not the case for Melissa.

The story is split from being told from David’s perspective and then it switches to Layla. I actually enjoyed this style; it allowed for getting a better sense of both characters and the chance to build a connection. While this was a solid story I wasn’t a fan of the ending, I found it was so abrupt and didn’t follow the overall flow of Forever Layla.

Overall, this was a unique and captivating read. I definitely recommend Forever Layla to anyone who wants a great romance, with strong characters and a well laid out plot.

3.5 Stars

 photo cf886107-e7e2-4e70-b8b2-49a04a64d5bc_zpsff8e7035.png

[US Only]
* Win a signed copy of Forever Layla + swag.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 photo 7c85ad0f-fa02-42ea-a525-4f88c294733b_zpsf94be14e.png

“David?” a soft feminine voice spoke my name.

I glanced up to see the biggest brownest eyes framed by the longest blackest lashed I’d ever seen. I glanced down to focus on the rest of her. The form fitting black dress she wore hugged every curve down to her toned and tanned legs.

My gaze trailed on down to her fancy black heels and then back up at her face. She was hot…like model hot. I couldn’t blink or think as I stared at her beautiful face framed by large amounts of blonde hair and a pair of large hoop earrings. She didn’t look like the other girls with her eye makeup, glossy pink lips and the way her hair was puffed up and styled. She looked like she had just stepped out of one of the James Bond movies Dad and I liked to watch on TV.”

“I glanced around the crowd of girls in cutoffs, t-shirts, Keds and stringy hair. Her look wasn’t in style at the moment. Most girls were doing the grunge and hippie thing, but Bond girls never went out of style with guys. I tried to say something, but I think I just stared and possibly stuttered before a wheeze came out. She reached for the inhaler in my shirt pocket and handed it to me. I took a puff as she shook her head smiling.

“It is you.” A look of pure wonder and amazement lit her face. She blinked, making her thick and extremely long lashes flutter like butterfly wings. “I can’t believe it. You wear glasses now.”

I pushed them back on my nose self-consciously as I put away my inhaler. “Yeah, like since the third grade.” I eyed her up and down once more and worked hard to remember to breathe. “Do I know you?”

“Kind of…Well not really. I’m…” she shifted her eyes to the side without moving her head and bit her lips like she needed to remember something and stopped for a moment before she continued. “Ugh! I suck at this. You’ll never let me do this again if I mess this up.” She shook her head and then turned her attention back to me. “No, you don’t know me, but I know all about you. Let’s just put it that way.”

Her grin said something was up.

 

 photo 82e606ad-3695-4aad-a23c-81fc38599ce0_zpsd6c239b4.png

Melissa Turner Lee holds a BA in Communications with a concentration in Journalism from the University of South Carolina. She has studied fiction writing since 2008, attending various writing conferences and workshops, along with guidance from professional writing coaches. She resides in Spartanburg, SC with her husband and 3 sons.

Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Thanks for stopping by!
signature1
One thought on “Blog Tour: Forever Layla

Leave a Reply

