Waiting on Wednesday (7): Gates of Thread and Stone

 photo fd48ffa3-57d2-454d-8d14-c659d87d6e8b_zps9f9afa5c.png

**Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine that spotlights highly anticipated upcoming releases.**

Gates of Thread and Stone

Author: Lori M. Lee
Series: Gates of Thread and Stone, #1
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Science Fiction
Publisher: Skyscape
Expected Publication Date: August 5th, 2014
Format: Hardcover

 photo 43968bbc-d4b3-489f-a604-973a70d99be8_zps5bec76ae.jpg

In the Labyrinth, we had a saying: keep silent, keep still, keep safe.

In a city of walls and secrets, where only one man is supposed to possess magic, seventeen-year-old Kai struggles to keep hidden her own secret—she can manipulate the threads of time. When Kai was eight, she was found by Reev on the riverbank, and her “brother” has taken care of her ever since. Kai doesn’t know where her ability comes from—or where she came from. All that matters is that she and Reev stay together, and maybe one day move out of the freight container they call home, away from the metal walls of the Labyrinth. Kai’s only friend is Avan, the shopkeeper’s son with the scandalous reputation that both frightens and intrigues her.

Then Reev disappears. When keeping silent and safe means losing him forever, Kai vows to do whatever it takes to find him. She will leave the only home she’s ever known and risk getting caught up in a revolution centuries in the making. But to save Reev, Kai must unravel the threads of her past and face shocking truths about her brother, her friendship with Avan, and her unique power.

 photo goodreads_zps10714c5e.png


When it comes to Waiting on Wednesday I always pick a book that will be released the same week, the week after, or within that month. However, this doesn’t seem to apply for this weeks Waiting on Wednesday. All the books that are coming out this month I either got very lucky and got an e-ARC or I’m not THAT excited for it to be released and probably won’t buy it or read anytime soon. So I had to go and search for a book coming out in August!

I added Gates of Thread and Stone to my tbr shelf in May and when I first came across it on Goodreads all I saw was Fantasy and Time travel and I automatically added it to my shelf. And of course there was the beautiful design on the cover that caught my eye, can you blame me?! Look at that cover! It’s just so beautiful. At I later date I finally decided to read the synopsis and I was even more excited for its release!! There are 5 books in total for the month of August that I’m beyond excited for and Gates of Thread and Stone is #1! What are the other 4 you ask? You’ll just have to wait and see ;).

What book are you currently waiting on?!

signature1

19 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday (7): Gates of Thread and Stone

    • Hehe!
      Thank you :). Sigh, Game of Thrones! I own the first book and it’s on my July tbr list! I’m really hoping to finish it this month. Do you watch the show as well?

    • YES!! Someone else who’s just as excited for it 🙂
      Sadly it’s not on Chapter’s website yet, and I haven’t gone over to the dark side yet (Amazon). But I have a feeling I’ll have to 😛

    • Thanks for stopping by!
      I left a comment on your post, I’ve never heard of that series! I added it to my TBR 😀

  1. I’ve heard of this one once before! It reminds me of a book I read last year- Crewel. It was about weaving time, too.

    • I’m thinking of pre-ordering it from Amazon since it’s not on Chapters yet. But I’ve never order from Amazon so I’m a little hesitant.

Leave a Reply

