Review | Carrier (The Line, #1)

 photo CarrierTourBanner2_zps09bb75b5.png


Carrier (The Line, #1)

Author: Anne Tibbets
Series: The Line, #1
Genre: New Adult, Dystopia
Publisher: Carina Press
Publication Date: June 16th, 2014
Format: ebook
Source: Xpresso Book Tours
Purchase: Amazon | B&N
 photo 43968bbc-d4b3-489f-a604-973a70d99be8_zps5bec76ae.jpg

Twenty-two -year-old Naya has spent nearly half her life as a sex slave in a government institution called The Line. When she’s kicked out after getting pregnant with twins, she’s got no way to earn a living and a horrifying choice to make: find someone to replace her, or have her babies taken in her stead.

A doctor with a history of aiding ex-Line girls, Ric Bennett, wants to help. He runs a team of rebels that can delete Naya’s records and free her forever. But when The Line sniffs out his plan, things get bloody, fast. Naya means more to them than just a chance at fresh faces—her twins are part of the government’s larger plan.

As they hide from government search parties, Ric comes to admire Naya’s quiet strength. And Naya realizes Ric might be a man she can trust. If they make it off the grid, they could build a new life. But first they’ll have to survive the long, vicious reach of The Line.

 photo goodreads_zpsbfc5d95d.png


 photo c84e18c8-8677-4526-89d4-fbd17c81445a_zpscae30e67.jpg

First Impression

When I first signed up for this blog tour I didn’t really know what I was getting myself into. I didn’t release at the time that this would be a dystopian novel. I have bad luck when it comes to this genre, mainly I never seem to enjoy any of the books. I had to put down The 5th Wave after 120 pages, haven’t read The Hunger Games or Divergent. I think the only dystopian novel I’ve read and enjoyed is 1984. I read the synopsis and I liked what I read I just hoped I would love the book from beginning to end.

The Good

  • World building – This is an author who knows how to cover her bases! This was set in the future and there wasn’t a single point where I felt lost and had to flip back to try to understand how this world/economy came to be or how they live.
  • Characters – I really liked the characters in Carrier! Especially Naya, and why do I love her? Because Anna Tibbets created a REALISTIC strong female character. After all the horrible things Naya has to endure she shuts down her emotions but as the story progresses we see them come back, she’s such a loving and caring character! Even the secondary characters were amazing!
  • Action & Romance – I thought I would get mainly action and only a little bit of romance. However, there was a good blend of both! There wasn’t a point that I felt the book was stuffy with all the romance nor did I feel like it was action driven.

The Bad

  • Nothing really that I would consider bad.

The In-Between

  • The Ending – I put this under ‘The In-Between’ because this is more so personal preference and not something I think everyone will agree to. I know this is going to be a series but I still felt the ending of Carrier was so short! I felt that last chapter could have been made into at least 2 additional chapters instead of it all being condensed into one. It was still a great ‘Happy ever after…for now’ kind of ending!

Lasting Impression

  • Overall, Carrier is a strong and well written novel! I can’t wait to read the next book in the series to find out what happens to Naya and Ric and all the other great characters we got to meet! This is defiantly one I recommend and one I  will re-read, yep I liked it THAT much!

 photo 11cf41c7-1e98-4802-b5cb-c4d74927f760_zpsa5a331f4.jpg

4 Stars

Watch the trailer!!

 

Click here to watch it on Youtube


 photo 3404dbb5-6554-4151-83c4-1b81b767d1ad_zps22cf7bae.jpg

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour-Wide Giveaway
Open INTL – Ends July 22nd
— $20 Amazon gift card
— 3x eBook copies of Carrier
— 20x Carrier t-shirts with Auberge pens.

 photo df37543c-805c-4244-93c9-4fd84e14574e_zpsb0c39b6f.jpg

Anne Tibbets is an SCBWI award-winning and Smashwords.com Best Selling author. After writing for Children’s television, Anne found her way to young/new adult fiction by following what she loves: books, strong female characters, twisted family dynamics, magic, sword fights, quick-moving plots, and ferocious and cuddly animals.

Along with CARRIER, Anne is also the author of the young adult fantasy novella, THE BEAST CALL and the young adult contemporary, SHUT UP.

Anne divides her time between writing, her family, and three furry creatures that she secretly believes are plotting her assassination.

Find her on Facebook at www.facebook.com/AnneTibbetsAuthor or on Twitter @WriteforCoffee. To contact Anne, visit www.annetibbets.com and click the ‘CONTACT’ tab.

Links: Website | Goodreads | Twitter | Facebook

Organized by:
XpressoBannerTours
Thanks for stopping by!
signature1
4 thoughts on “Review | Carrier (The Line, #1)

Leave a Reply

