ARC Review | Uncovering Her Nine Month Secret

Uncovering Her Nine Month Secret

Author: Jennie Lucas
Series: Standalone
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Publisher: Harlequin
Expected Publication Date: July 15th / August 1st, 2014
Format: eARC
Source: Harlequin / NetGalley
Purchase: Amazon | B&N | Kobo | iBooks

 photo 43968bbc-d4b3-489f-a604-973a70d99be8_zps5bec76ae.jpg

“You wouldn’t have been able to resist either, believe me.” 

He broke down my defenses as if they were paper. One dark, unfathomable glance from Alejandro, the notorious Duke of Alzacar, and I was his. It was only later that I realized why he’d seduced me, and I had no choice but to flee.

Nine months on, he’s found me. No matter how my body and my heart react to him, I can never let the duke take our son away from me. But Alejandro will stop at nothing. I just have one card left to play…

 photo goodreads_zpsbfc5d95d.png


 photo c84e18c8-8677-4526-89d4-fbd17c81445a_zpscae30e67.jpg

** I received a copy from Harlequin via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**
*All quotes from eARC and may change in final edition*

First Impression

Late last night I decided to log onto NetGalley and take a look for something new to read. I was really in the mood for something light and full of fluff, this reading slump just doesn’t want to leave! Once I read the synopsis I realized the great potential this book would have and decided to give it a go.

Opening Lines

The gray, lowering sky was falling like a shroud across the old colonial city of San Miguel de Allende when I heard the words I’d feared in nightmares for the past year.”

The Good

I had a feeling this book would have great potential and I was right! I loved the plot, it was just so interesting and kept building and building! I even enjoyed the characters. Lena and Alejandro were two strong main characters and dysfunctional secondary characters Claudia and Edward all kept the story alive. The writing style was definitely my favourite part, I kept trying to tab different parts because there were just so many beautiful quotes! I’ve included a couple throughout my review.

Oleander. I Shivered a little. So beautiful to the eyes. But so poisonous to the heart.
Just like Alejandro, I thought.”

The Bad

  • Nothing I would consider bad.

The In-Between

  • Title – I’m that person that expects the title to match the plot of a book, and this is one that I felt could have been named something different. The title is Uncovering Her Nine Month Secret, yet the really wasn’t MUCH of uncovering Lena’s secret, within the first chapter its solved. Now, there was another secret that seemed the be the focus of the book and I feel like the title should have had more to do with that than Lena’s.
  • On and Off – This book fell flat at some points closer towards the end. I felt like the same level of creativity that was used to start the book was missing when it came to finishing the book.
  • 9 Months Ago – I would have loved if there was a chapter from nine months/a year ago when Lena and Alejandro first meet and how that night really took off for them.

Denial is a beautiful thing. A woman in love can be very good at focusing on the ode and ignoring the thorn-at last until it draws blood.”

Lasting Impression

Overall, Uncovering Her Nine Month Secret was a cute, light, and swoon worthy read! A couple of things I wish played out differently but still an enjoyable read! If you want a romance novel with an innocent heroine, a hero with a secret, and a loveable family I recommend picking this up!

You create your own future, step by step, by being brave. By doing the right thing. By telling the truth. By trying your best.”

 photo 11cf41c7-1e98-4802-b5cb-c4d74927f760_zpsa5a331f4.jpg

4 Stars

 

Thanks for stopping by!

signature1

Leave a Reply

